Our History

Baptist work started in Fenny Stratford in 1797 and by 1805 there was a small meeting house in Aylesbury Street. In 1892 a new Spurgeon Memorial Church was built in Aylesbury Street and new schoolrooms were added in 1905.

After searching for a new site the church entered into a sharing agreement with St Frideswide’s to extend the existing St Frideswide’s site at Drayton Road, Water Eaton. The sale proceeds from the Aylesbury Street church site and the Boys Brigade Club site were used to extend the St Frideswide’s buildings adding a Youth Hall, the BB Room and ancillary rooms.

The Water Eaton Church Centre was opened on the 10 June 1975. The first phase of the work behind the Church Centre on the landscaping and play area for the local community and the church was completed during 2003.

The Water Eaton Church Centre is now the home of Spurgeon Baptist Church and of St Frideswide’s, Church of England.

Spurgeon Memorial Baptist Church, photographed in 1975, after it had been sold and awaiting demoliton, Credit: Living Archive MK
A video documenting the move from Spurgeon Memorial Church in Aylesbury Street to the newly opened Water Eaton Church Centre in 1975

List of Ministers

We’ve had ministers from a variety of different backgrounds over the years, from army chaplains (Kevin White) to future academic principals (Robert Ellis). This list dates back to 1926, though of course we’ve had many ministers before this date too.

Starting Year Minister
1926Rev Arthur Dalton
????Rev Donald Sutton
1932Rev Hugh Roberts
1936Rev Adam Reid
1943Rev Walter Richardson
1964Rev Stuart Armitage
1968Rev Paul Inness
1981Rev Robert Ellis
1989Rev Terry Horn
1998Rev Chris Bell
2017Rev Kevin White
2024Rev Mung Hatzaw
Left to right: Rev Chris Bell, Rev Robert Ellis and Rev Terry Horn