Our People

At Spurgeon Baptist Church, leadership is congregational rather than episcopal. That is to say, everyone who is a church member has a say on how the church is run. The church members elect the deacons, Church Secretary and Church Treasurer, who along with the Minister make up the Diaconate.

The Diaconate are responsible for the spiritual leadership, oversight and day-to-day administration of the church.


Since we’re in the process of searching for a new Minister, this position is currently vacant. This means that the church enters a time of what is known as an interregnum. Our most recent minister, Rev Kevin White, retired at the end of September 2022.

During this time our services are led by a Lay Preaching Team; members of the church who alternate in leading services and giving sermons.

Church Secretary

The Church Secretary assists the Minister and handles most of the administrative side of the life of the church.

If you have a matter that concerns the Church Secretary directly, you can email secretary@spurgeonbaptist.com.

Church Treasurer

The Church Treasurer is in charge of overseeing the church finances. This includes our offering, which funds the role of the minister and the work of the church.


We currently have six serving deacons. You’ll be able to identify them on a Sunday if they’re wearing their blue name tags. Feel free to introduce yourself if you’re new, they’ll be happy to chat!

Safeguarding Officers

The church membership has also appointed two safeguarding officers as Designated Persons for the purpose of administering safeguarding policy.

More information can be found on our Safeguarding Policy page under the heading ‘Responsible People’.